Who needs writer’s block when you’ve got… kids?

26 May

I thought this might be a good time to share a tale of when I was beset by a serious obstacle in my writing. One that would not allow me to continue for a period of time. Was I suffering writer’s block, you might ask? Well, read on to find out: “Who needs writer’s block when you’ve got… kids?”

So… I went to do some writing the other day and the keyboard was not responding. Now I was understandably perplexed… why isn’t my keyboard working?

I tried a re-boot…

I received an error message “Keyboard Failure.”

This seemed ominous. I tried to inspect the keyboard to see if there was any… obvious damage, like maybe a wire disconnected or whatever. That’s when I noticed something odd.

Well I suppose NOT odd really… I mean NOT all that odd if a keyboard is supposed to SLOSH!!!!!!

That’s right.  SLOSH!

Hmm… this bears investigation… some of the keys are a little sticky…

I turn the keyboard upside down and Fruit Punch spills all over my desk top.

!#$%^&*@!

My OLDEST daughter informs me that my YOUNGEST daughter had spilled her juice all over the keyboard and she had tried to wipe it up… “Yes,” I patiently inform her “the desk was wiped up… THAT’s WHY DADDY DIDN’T KNOW ANYTHING WAS WRONG!!!!!”

Did she think the juice INSIDE the keyboard would just dry up eventually????? I dis-assembled my keyboard, cleaned everything, dried everything and put it all back together {sigh}.

As you can tell … IT WORKED!

When I asked my daughter why she didn’t tell me, she gave me the line about NOT wanting to get in trouble.

“BUT,” I said “YOU TOLD DADDY IT WAS YOUR LITTLE SISTER??”

“Yes, But ya see… the thing is daddy, well I… I… I…”

“YOU WHAT!?!?” I asked getting exasperated.

“Well, the thing is… I wanted a sip of her juice… and she wouldn’t give it to me…”

GRRRRRRRRRRRR…

The little darlings. LOL.

santiago london – Eyez

One Response to “Who needs writer’s block when you’ve got… kids?”

  1. Reece Young Jae Kim May 27, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Reblogged this on Impazziamo: Artistic.

Leave a Reply

